The End

We have finally arrived to the conclusion of my Japan vlogs, and it seems bitter-sweet. I’ve been working on these vlogs and this blog for nearly 6 years and there are just so many things I wish I could have expressed or mentioned but couldn’t find room. All vlogs are between 5-35 minutes but I had nearly 1 hour+ of footage for each episode. Editing is a skill that requires sacrifice and I have certainly developed painful truth over the years. Even though film making is my occupation, these vlogs have always been a fun project to remind me how story telling doesn’t need to be perfect or calculated. It just needs to have structure and good pacing.

I’ve learned so much about myself from creating this series. It’s a strange thing watching yourself for hours and hours. You go through different stages of acceptance and criticism. First, you hate the sound of your voice or how you fidget with your hair, then you develop insecurities about how you look, then you learn to accept just how nerdy you are. The analysis really takes you to a place where you get to know yourself and how you want to present yourself to the world. I appreciate that I’m able to grow from these experiences and how they will forever be apart of the online world.

Lastly I want to thank Kaz and Joe for being such great friends and travel partners. Without them I know that I would have had a very different experience, and not for the better. I think I’ll make a little highlight video but that’s only going to go on my YouTube page so if you want to keep up with future uploads be sure to subscribe.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5NXt4FnUwaYO3JX3qeGD7g

Onto the next adventure. Uganda + Kenya, my editing skills are coming for you!

-K

One thought on “The End

Leave a Reply

