Just hanging out in Tenri – DAYS 9 & 10

After yet another delay in our Yamazaki trip Joe, Kaz and I had to find a way to fill two more days in Tenri. This consisted of food, sleep, shooting (the film kind), and watching anime. During these two days of utter laziness (and some real work) I had a developing thought about how lucky we were to be on this trip. I had been wanting to go to Japan since I was 14 years old and always had this curiosity for this country that had so much history, culture and technology.


It was during these two days that I finally realized that I was on the other side of the world. I always wondered why I hadn’t felt the culture shock till this point in time, but the more I thought about it I finally comprehended that there hadn’t been any real issues getting around, and with Kaz being present there wasn’t much to be lost in translation.

Days 9 & 10 gave me time to absorb my surrounding and actually take a moment to realize I wasn’t in Canada anymore (you’d think the weather would have been a good clue!) With all the similarities in developed countries I think it’s harder to experience that ultimate culture shock. Don’t get me wrong there are major differences between Japan and Canada, but when you have accessible transportation, readily available food, internet and adequate money in your pocket you can’t help but feel that you are living in a very similar environment to your own. I felt safe because so many things were familiar, so I felt like I was missing out on the real idea of travelling.  The purpose (i think) about travelling is having moments where you feel lost, disoriented, challenged and yet going through the process of figuring it out and moving forward. That concept of just living and learning is what I imagined travelling to be and since I had been in Japan I hadn’t quite felt that way.

Either way I will eventually have some of these moments but for now here are Days 9 & 10.

-KB

3 thoughts on “Just hanging out in Tenri – DAYS 9 & 10

  1. Kara — you are my little junk food junkie (and Joe) — enjoyed the video and looking forward to the whiskey distillery experience!

Leave a Reply

