Hiking in 35 degree weather ain’t so hot.

On the 4th day of our trip we decided that Tenri had showed us what it had to offer and it was time to venture out into the surrounding cities. Nara, the closest larger city in the prefecture is quite a bustling place. It is definitely a tourist’s paradise and the city knows it.

The trip into the Todai-ji was kind of surreal for me. I’ve never been to a Buddhist temple before and the sheer enormity of the Buddha Vairocana was breathtaking. At first I was in awe of the Buddha itself, but then came a wave of energy that shook me to the bone. How many people have prayed in this place? How long has this building been here? What was it like to sit here hundreds of years ago when there weren’t 20 souvenir booths lined up outside? As I moved through the semi-circle pathway around the Buddha I started feeling as though I was passing through a very sacred place without truly understanding it.

Hundreds of thousands if not millions of people walk through this temple every year and I would believe that a good percentage of them have no idea what this place means to those of the Buddhist religion. I certainly have no knowledge about their traditions and practices yet I was allowed to walk through a significant temple for the right price of 500 yen. I guess I was conflicted with my being able to just waltz into this temple for a price and no guidance as to what this place really means.

Either way it is undeniable that the Todai-ji is truly a remarkable feat. It is an architectural marvel, and having burnt down twice the temple is actually 30% smaller than its original. Overall Nara will definitely be one of the major highlights.

-KB

4 thoughts on “Hiking in 35 degree weather ain’t so hot.

  1. Hey Kara, you guys rock!!! Looks like you are having a ton of fun. Hopefully you are getting to shoot your other videos too. What kind of beer was it? Time is just flying by too hey? Love you tons, auntie danie

    • Yeah I can’t believe we only have two weeks left! We are currently in Sapporo right now for a couple of days then we head down to Tokyo for a week. This is where we are shooting my section of the short film. It’s going to be super exciting. Oh and the beer was Asahi Dry… in Japan there are really only three main beer companies so its either Asahi, Sapporo or Kirin. It was pretty good. Miss ya!

  2. Good morning. Sitting here, drinking my morning coffee and watched Day 4…made me giggle. Thanks, Connie

  3. Awesome camera shots! Cool Budda!! I think Joe needs to bring a spicy rice roll for the deer next time!! Mom

Leave a Reply

